Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides advice, assistance, and leadership to the Kenan Institute for Ethics in all matters relating to its programs, projects, and priorities. The Board consists of between fifteen and twenty-four distinguished individuals, including business leaders, academics, journalists, and philanthropists. The Advisory Board is chaired by the President of Duke University and meets on campus in April and November each year.


Wilt Alston E’81, P’13, a transportation safety consultant with over 30 years of experience in design, development, verification and validation of industrial software-based systems.

Christine Bader, nonresident Senior Fellow at the Kenan Institute for Ethics; former advisor to the UN Special Representative of the Secretary-General for business and human rights

Stephen Bear (Board Vice Chair) T’73, executive coach and business advisor, adjunct faculty member at Iona College, and former senior vice-president of human resources at Bristol-Myers Squibb

Charles Bell T’82, P’18 is group vice president for The Louis Berger Group’s economic development practice. He has experience with USAID, the World Bank, and the Asian Development Bank.

Richard H. Brodhead (Board Chair, ex officio), president of Duke University

Susan Nance Callaway T’84, G’93, P’15, previously worked at the High Museum of Art in Atlanta, interests include public policy, student life, philosophy, sociology, and ethics

William Cohan T’81, author of House of Cards and The Last Tycoon; former managing director of JP Morgan Chase, former director at Merrill Lynch

Alice B. Hicks WC’69, P’07, executive vice president at Iridian Asset Management, LLC

Katherine Hood T’96, educator and philanthropic consultant,  former CEO of The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research

Daniel Katz T’80, P’14, partner and senior portfolio manager at Apex Capital,LLC

Poorav Rohatgi T’10, JD candidate at The University of Texas School of Law, soon joining Haynes Boone, LLP in Houston, TX

Michael McAuliffe P’18, General Counsel at Oxbow Carbon LLC. Prior to joining Oxbow, Mr. McAuliffe served as the elected state attorney for Palm Beach County from January 2009 until March 2012.

Richard Morrill G’68, former president of the Teagle Foundation, former chair of the Board of Directors of ChildFund International, former Chancellor and Distinguished University Professor of Ethics and Democratic Values at the University of Richmond

Noah Pickus (ex officio), Nannerl O. Keohane director of the Kenan Institute for Ethics at Duke University where he teaches in the Sanford School of Public Policy and the Fuqua School of Business

Jonathan Silver, T’75, P’04, P’06, clinical professor of psychiatry at New York University School of Medicine

Jimmy Soni T’07, Managing Editor of the Huffington Post

Alisa Worth T’01, Nevada Senate Democrats executive director


Lawrence Blum, professor of philosophy and Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Education at the University of Massachusetts-Boston

Joel L. Fleishman, professor of law and public policy Studies and director of the Heyman Center for Ethics, Public Policy, and the Professions at the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University

William A. Galston, Senior Fellow in the Brookings Institution’s Governance Studies Program

Julian J. Harris T’00, Medicaid program director for the State of Massachusetts and former Rhodes Scholar

Joseph S. Harvard, III,  retired pastor of First Presbyterian Church in Durham

J. Matthew Mackowski T’76chairman and managing director of Telegraph Hill Partners, a San Francisco life science and medical technology private equity firm

Dennis Meyer P’87, P’90, P’93, P’98, P’08, senior counsel and former executive committee chairman of the international law firm of Baker & McKenzie

Wyndham Robertson, (Emerita), former director of Capital Cities/ABC, Wachovia, and Media General; former vice president for communications at the University of North Carolina

Jeanne Tannenbaum G’73, (Emerita),active supporter of humanitarian, educational, and arts activities in Greensboro and across North Carolina, retired hospital administrator